Tags

, , , , , ,

red rose
If I were a gypsy queen

I’d toss my scarves and swing my beads,

And sing aloud and laugh and fling

My hair around in ecstasy.

And I would be, indisputably,

The most generous of gypsy queens;

I’d give all I have to all I see,

My flowing tresses of ebony,

My deep green eyes that wink knowingly

At passers-by as they marvel at me

While I fling my hair and swing my beads

And produce a stare that ne’er fails to bring

The crowds to me, with my silken scarves and dazzling rings,

As I spin about in a tireless frenzy

And catch them up in the electricity

Of the whirling colors and energy.

red flowers
And I’d lift my chin toward the skies

And implore the heavens with my eyes

To see beyond this lavish disguise-

And the stars and moon, my dearest kin,

Would look upon me and see my sin

But continue to shine as I’d dance and spin.

And I’d know they forgive as the light falls on me

and whatever I am, I am happy to be

Because I am a different sort of gypsy.

purple bloom
And my scarves and rings and all my beads

Are simply the joy living inside of me,

And I dance and sing and bat my eyes

And smile my smile at passers-by

Because I know my love is waiting for me

With treasures he’s brought from across the sea

And once we are united I truly will be

The most wealthy and envied of gypsy queens.
yellow rose